Iowa Association of County Medical Examiners


Positive Reviews, Record Attendance for IACME Fall Meeting

The 2015 IACME Fall Meeting and Education Expo drew record attendance and positive reviews last Friday and Saturday, November 20-21 at the West Des Moines Marriott.

The program included presentations on in-custody injuries and deaths, investigating explosions and transportation accidents, elderly abuse and Iowa cold cases. The banquet speaker was Colonel Reginald Ash, III, who was decorated for valor for leading his team’s response following the Khobar Tower bombings in Saudi Arabia in 1996. Colonel Ash spoke on crisis leadership skills.

IACME elections were held at a member meeting on Friday evening. Election results are as follows: President—Thomas Carroll, MD; Vice President—Sheila Holcomb, MD; Secretary-Treasurer—Barbara Harre, MD. Four Board Members were also elected—Dennis Crabb, MD, Dennis Firchau, MD, Paul Jensen, MD, PharmD and Kevin Locke, MD. All offices carry 2-year terms.

An attendee list is available below. Watch the Spring, IACME News for more photos and news from the2015 Fall Meeting.

Next year’s IACME Fall Meeting and Education Expo will be Friday-Saturday, November 18-19, 2016 at the West Des Moines Marriott. The 2017 meeting will be Friday-Saturday, September 22-23 at the Coralville Marriott. The Iowa City meeting is a one-time outreach effort.

Click here for a list of Fall Meeting attendees.

Great line-up for IACME Fall Meeting and Education Expo

The IACME Fall Meeting and Education Expo has been approved for 13 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 continuing medical education credit for physicians.

Michael Graham, MD, Chief Medical Examiner for the City of St. Louis, will be a headline speaker at the Iowa Association of County Medical Examiners Fall Meeting and Education Expo Friday and Saturday, November 20-21 in West Des Moines.

Dr. Graham is an expert on in-custody injuries and deaths. He will speak to Iowa’s county medical examiners and medical examiner investigators on Friday, November 20. The title of his presentation is Investigating Deaths Temporally Associated with Apprehension and Confinement.

Other presentations will include victim accounting after transportation disasters, ATF investigation of explosions and a presentation on crisis leadership by an Air Force colonel decorated for leading the response to the terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers in Saudi Arabia.

A link to the meeting brochure is provided below, along with the meeting schedule and a description of ME-101, a special Friday morning course for new MEs and MEIs. You can register by mail and pay by check using the form on the back of the brochure. If you prefer, you can register online and pay via credit card by visiting the Fall Meeting section of this web site.

Special Note: Speaker handouts are available for printing by registrants in the Meeting Materials section of this website. Free wi-fi will be available at the hotel for accessing the handouts online. To get the password for this section, phone Cheri Jensen at 515.957.9246 or email her at

2015 Fall Meeting and Education Expo brochure

About Our Speakers

Meeting schedule

ME-101 information 

IACME Offices up for Election

The offices of President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer and four Board seats will be up for election during the 2015 IACME Fall Meeting and Education Expo Friday and Saturday, November 20-21 at the West Des Moines Marriott. Annual elections will be held during the IACME Member Meeting at 7:00 p.m. Friday evening.

Offices up for election and the incumbents are: President (Daniel Cole, MD); Vice President (Paul Jensen, MD, PharmD); and Secretary-Treasurer (Dennis Crabb, MD). Board seats held by Thomas Carroll, MD; Sheila Holcomb, MD; and Marcus Nashelsky, MD are also up for election. A fourth board seat held by Dennis I. Mallory, DO has been vacant since Dr. Mallory’s death in May and is also up for election.

If anyone is interested in running for an office or board seat, please contact Cheri Jensen at 515.957.9246 or email her at


Dennis I. Mallory, DO

Dennis I. Mallory, DO, IACME Board Member and founding member of IACME, died Monday, May 18 following a lengthy illness. A Celebration of Life service with Masonic Rites and military honors took place Friday, May 22 at 11 a.m. at the Reinig Center in Toledo.

On behalf of IACME, we extend our deepest sympathy to the Mallory family.

(Dr. Mallory’s obituary can be found at